Scrumptious Alcohol Inks

9 Oct

I recently attended Art & Soul in Portland. So much fun being surrounded by wonderfully creative people. I learned a lot and met a lot of new people and spent time with one of my sisters (the other one wasn’t able to attend 😦 ), as well as meeting up again with friends I met at the last retreat. I highly recommend attending an art retreat if the opportunity is there for you. One of my classes (I will do more posts about the other classes soon) was Ink-a-licious with Cathy Taylor. Cathy has loads of energy and is super nice and the class was wonderful.

We learned so many new little tricks and techniques about using Alcohol Inks and Yupo paper. Wow. I didn’t even know that I didn’t know so much! Everyone in the class was generous in sharing their colors so we all had all of the colors from Tim Holtz alcohol inks line – so scrumptious. The more colors the better, right? I had never used Yupo paper before, so that was a treat to try. Yupo is a synthetic paper with a slick surface, which works great with the alcohol inks. I wonder what else I can do with it?

Here are some samples of our work tables while we were learning all the good stuff. So scrumptious!

fun messy table

more messy worktables

more messiness

Enough of the workspaces. Now here are some photos of the actual art work we did.

lovely fall colors

beautiful landscape

more yummy papers

another fun landscape

(Sorry about the glare on the photos – forgot to turn my flash off when I took them.)  I can’t wait to play with these new techniques some more. I had such fun and I thank Cathy Taylor for her fabulous class. If you get a chance to take a class with her (she teaches a lot of different classes) you should definitely do it.

So, get out your alcohol inks and play!

~Deb~

Let Your Inner Artist Out To Play

Blue Twig Studio – 5965 Whiskey River Drive – Colorado Springs, CO 80923 – USA

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 Responses to “Scrumptious Alcohol Inks”

  1. dr.divyesh kotadia October 9, 2012 at 8:28 pm #

    Reblogged this on Dr.Divyesh Kotadia's Blog and commented:
    new work!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Like

  2. Sonja Milojevic October 10, 2012 at 6:39 am #

    These alcohol inks are amazing! I love the effect, almost like a stained glass. Your work is beautiful Deb!

    Like

I love to read your comments

Royalty Free Images
