Book Club – The Artist’s Way – Chapter 10

17 Aug

The Artist’s Way by Julia Cameron

Chapter 10 is Recovering a Sense of Self-Protection. This chapter kind of struck close to home as a lot of the focus on the chapter was on workaholism. About using work as a block, as an excuse, as a way to avoid play. Yikes! I like to think I can easily Play and Have Fun whenever I want to. After all, that is what I preach all the time to others. But when I went through the chapter and actually went through the Workaholism Quiz, I realized that perhaps I don’t just let go and Play as much as I should. I do use work as a block, way more often than I like to admit. Our culture values work much more than play. Play is considered an indulgence, a luxury if you will. While work is considered good and positive and part of being successful. We don’t usually consider Play as synonymous with Success. I’d like to change that way of thinking!

Play can make a workaholic very nervous. Fun is scary.

These words really made an impact on me. On how I look at my own business and my own play time. How about you? Do you use work as a way to block your creativity? Be honest now…….do you?

Part of the chapter talked about creating some bottom lines for yourself to set limits on working too much.

  1. I will no longer work weekends.
  2. I will no longer bring work with me on social occasions.
  3. I will no longer place my work before my creative commitments.

And on and on. What bottom lines can you set for yourself to allow more creativity to be part of your life – instead of work. What can you say no to doing?

There were sections on Fame and Competition in this chapter that really just did not resonate with any of us in the book club. So we really did not discuss these aspects of the chapter. Which doesn’t mean they aren’t valid issues for a lot of people, but just not something that we felt compelled to discuss this week.

There were some interesting tasks this month, which really are starting to be quite personal. How honest are you in answering some of these questions?

  • What habit do you have that gets in the way of your creativity?
  • What is your payoff in holding on to this block?
  • Which destructive habits do your destructive friends share with your destructive self?
  • Which friends make you doubt yourself?
  • What is the payoff in keeping those friends.
  • Which friends believe in you and your talent?

Do some soul-searching in answering these questions. You have to be honest with yourself or you won’t be able to make the changes you need to make to move into your creativity. I know, that is the hard part, but you can do it!

I know you are doing your Morning Pages and your Artist Date. Because you have to do the work to make progress. How are you doing with these activities? What are you learning?

Next week if Recovering a Sense of Autonomy.

This week we focus on our artistic autonomy. We examine the ongoing ways in which we must nurture and accept ourselves as artists. We explore the behaviors that can strengthen our spiritual base and, therefore, our creative power. We take a special look at the ways in which success must be handled in order that we not sabotage our freedom.

See you next week!

~Deb~

Let Your Inner Artist Out To Play

Blue Twig Studio

8 Responses to “Book Club – The Artist’s Way – Chapter 10”

  1. Sonja Milojevics August 18, 2012 at 12:43 am #

    I can always feel when I need time to play, when my work becomes “only work” and no play. So I try to remedy that when ever I can. And yes, I do feel guilty sometimes of playing too much. But sometimes I really don’t care. 🙂

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt August 18, 2012 at 7:48 am #

      Good attitude Sonja. I know that the nature of my business/work involves art and creativity and playing, so very often I am playing but it is really working, or vice versa. It is difficult to separate the two. But maybe I am trying to separate them when I don’t really need to do that. Hmmmm.

      Like

  2. Krystyna Rawicz August 18, 2012 at 9:23 am #

    I have been working very hard and very long hours since February, largely in response to economic factors and the need to “survive”. Which is real, and I have dependents. However, I am very aware of the many negative impacts of this reality. My youngest child ( 7) is quite troubled, and fears I may be so busy at work I forget to come back for/to him. I went for a routine cardio screen, and found that for the first time ever in my life I have extremely high blood pressure. My creative time is squeezed into fifteen minute slots at the very start and very end of the day. Worst – guilty feelings arise at the very notionof play. All those tasks unattended to.

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt August 18, 2012 at 2:30 pm #

      It is difficult to balance work and survival with play and family. It is a fine line most days. I applaud you for at least finding a few minutes to start and end your days. That is more than most are able to do. I wish you luck in banishing the guilt. Hugs to you and your family.

      Like

  3. Krystyna Rawicz August 18, 2012 at 9:25 am #

    I wrote this after reflecting on the deeper message of what my high blood pressure may be trying to tell me:

    http://krystyna-rawicz.blogspot.com/2012/08/resistance.html

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt August 18, 2012 at 2:31 pm #

      Nicely written. I hope you blood pressure goes down soon.

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Book Club – The Artist’s Way – Chapter 11 « Blue Twig Studio - August 24, 2012

    […] Book Club – The Artist’s Way – Chapter 10 (bluetwigstudio.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

  2. Book Club – The Artist’s Way – Chapter 12 « Blue Twig Studio - August 31, 2012

    […] Book Club – The Artist’s Way – Chapter 10 (bluetwigstudio.wordpress.com) Rate this:Share this:FacebookStumbleUponDiggTwitterEmailPinterestTumblrRedditLinkedInLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. […]

    Like

I love to read your comments

Royalty Free Images
