Book Club – The Artist’s Way – Chapter 6

20 Jul

We are halfway through this great book – The Artist’s Way – A Spiritual Path To Higher Creativity by Julia Cameron. This week we read and discussed Chapter 6 – Recovering a Sense of Abundance.  This chapter talked about money and abundance. Our feelings about money, our relationship with money, our beliefs about money, etc. This quiz was part of the chapter. Did you take the quiz? What did your answers reveal?

  • People with money are……..
  • Money makes people…….
  • I’d have more money if……
  • My dad thought money was…..
  • My mom always thought money would…..
  • In my family, money caused…..
  • Money equals…..
  • If I had money, I’d…..
  • If I could afford it, I’d…..
  • If I had some money, I’d…..
  • I’m afraid that if I had money I would…..
  • Money is…..
  • Money causes…..
  • Having money is not…..
  • In order to have more money, I’d need to…..
  • When I have money, I usually…..
  • I think money…..
  • If I weren’t so cheap I’d…..
  • People think money…..
  • Being broke tells me…..

We had a lively discussion about some of these questions. Money is a touchy subject for most people. It is one of those topics that we don’t talk about in polite conversation, or at best we dance around the topic. It’s personal and revealing and we feel uncomfortable. The discussion went from talking about money equaling success to wants vs. needs to the education system to our cultural issues with money and consumerism. Believe me, there is a lot of conversation to be had when you bring up money!

The other part of the chapter was about luxury and pampering and treating yourself. Why do we deny ourselves? Guilt was the big part of that answer. Especially for those who struggle with the money side of things. It is hard to do something nice for yourself if you are worrying about paying for the bare necessities. But even for those without such worries, it is difficult to do nice things for yourself without the attached guilt!

Julia offers up examples and ideas of simple things to do to treat yourself. Buying your favorite fruit (in and out of season) and enjoying it; picking up pretty rocks that appeal to you; picking flowers from your garden; baking your favorite pie. Easy things to do and they can truly make you feel like you are putting yourself first for a change. You don’t have to spend money to pamper yourself. It is an illusion to thing that all pampering comes by way of $300 shoes or a $100 massage. What can you do to pamper yourself and allow yourself to enjoy?

Chapter 7 is Recovering a Sense of Connection. Our next book club meeting is July 26th. See you then!

We turn this week to the practice of right attitudes for creativity. The emphasis is on your receptive as well as active skills. The essays, exercises, and tasks aim at excavating areas of genuine creative interest as you connect with your personal dreams.

How is your journey towards your creative self coming along? Be sure to check in with your goals that you set way back in week 1 about where you want to go. Have your ideas about what you wanted changed? Have you made progress towards those goals? Are you doing your morning pages and your artist date? Are you doing the tasks and exercises? Are you learning anything?

Please share your journey with me. I’d love to hear your thoughts.

 

6 Responses to “Book Club – The Artist’s Way – Chapter 6”

  1. Krystyna Rawicz July 21, 2012 at 1:11 am #

    Hello Deb, I’ve lost touch a little with your journey since week 3, but found this post and the questions it poses interesting. Some years ago I attended a workshop on money and spirit, and discovered that while I thought I had no issues about money, in fact I had many! So I am revisiting the questions with interest.
    This summer, I’m taking part in a weekly outdoor art and photography exhibition at the harbour. Its a new venture, and tomorrow will be our third week. There are about 30 people exhibiting, and we hope this will grow over the summer. Its had a great response, generating lots of interest and footfall, but few sales. Its interesting how anxious not selling can make people ( myself included). All sorts of value judgements about oneself arise. I’m trying to just enjoy the experience (sitting at the harbour in the sun with like minded people and having people look at and comment on my creative work) and just notice how the lack of sales makes me feel without reacting to it.
    I look forward to hearing more from you next month!

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt July 21, 2012 at 8:09 am #

      Hy Krystyna, glad you are back joining in the discussion. Money definitely has its issues for a lot of us. And because we tend to not talk about money to anyone (at least not in a meaningful way) we don’t necessarily realize we have these issues. Good luck with the art and photography exhibit. I hope you are able to really enjoy the whole process and not worry to much about the money side of it all. It sounds like a great venture to be part of.

      Like

  2. Sonja Milojevics July 21, 2012 at 2:00 am #

    The biggest problem I have with money is that I will never have enough for art supplies, because I don’t think a 100 000$ would be enough for me. LOL! And yes, guilt is always present, but I do love to pamper my self with free time – time to work in my studio. I feel guilty for not cleaning the house every time I should. 🙂

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt July 21, 2012 at 8:11 am #

      🙂 I always feel guilty about not cleaning the house too. I wonder why that is? Clearly it is gender related. My husband never thinks twice about such things. Sigh. But I know you do spend a lot of time in your studio, so good for you! It is very important to do those things for yourself.

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Book Club – The Artist’sWay – Chapter 7 « Blue Twig Studio - July 27, 2012

    […] Book Club – The Artist’s Way – Chapter 6 (bluetwigstudio.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

  2. Book Club – The Artist’s Way – Chapter 8 « Blue Twig Studio - August 3, 2012

    […] Book Club – The Artist’s Way – Chapter 6 (bluetwigstudio.wordpress.com) Rate this:Share this:FacebookStumbleUponDiggTwitterEmailPinterestTumblrRedditLinkedInLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. […]

    Like

I love to read your comments

Royalty Free Images
