Book Club – The Artist’s Way – Chapter 5

6 Jul

Another week – another chapter in our book club/discussion group. We are reading The Artist’s Way by Julia Cameron. This week we read Chapter 5  – Recovering a Sense of Possibility. This chapter resonated with some of the group more than others. The big issue with this chapter was “the virtue trap”. This essentially is allowing other people’s needs and wants to come before our own. The idea of putting what we want on hold or on the back burner while we attend to somebody else’s needs is what a lot of women automatically do. This chapter is about trying to let go of those ideas and allow ourselves to think about us first. This is tough for a lot of people to do. We don’t like the idea of other people thinking we are selfish or unkind (which is typically what happens) so we push those feelings aside. We keep our own wants and desires well hidden. Nobody even knows that we are craving something. Because we don’t let them know!! Sometimes we don’t even let ourselves know what we want! You can’t expect others to help you on this journey if you don’t tell them what you want.

There were some interesting exercises this week as well. One exercise was “What would I try if it weren’t too crazy?”, followed up by “What would I do if it weren’t too selfish?”.  Another exercise was “Forbidden Joys” – List 10 things you love and would love to do but are not allowed to do (not allowed by yourself, by your family, by your age, etc). Think about these exercises and try to be honest with yourself when completing them. Don’t think about what your family wants or your boss wants, but what you want! It is hard to do.

Try this exercise as well.  The Virtue-Trap Quiz:

  • The biggest lack in my life is……..
  • The greatest joy in my life is……..
  • My largest time commitment is…….
  • As I play more, I work……….
  • I feel guilty that I am……..
  • I worry that……..
  • If my dreams came true, my family will………
  • I sabotage myself so people will…….
  • If I let myself feel it, I’m angry that I…….
  • One reason I get sad sometimes is…….

How honest are you when filling these blanks in? We can’t really grow and move on to the next part of our creative lives if we aren’t being honest with ourselves. And sometimes that is the hardest part.

We don’t meet next week, so the next meeting will be July 19th. I hope you can join us again. We are now moving on to Chapter 6 which is Recovering a Sense of Abundance.

This week you tackle a major creative block – money. You are asked to really look at your own ideas around God, money, and creative abundance. The essays will explore the ways in which your attitudes limit abundance and luxury in your current life. You will be introduced to counting, a block-busting tool for clarity and right use of funds. This week may feel volatile.

Remember to do your morning pages and schedule your Artist Date with yourself each week. Do the exercises and tasks with each chapter. These are there to help you with your journey. Let me know about your progress or lack of progress and what changes you have noticed in your creative life. Don’t worry if you feel like you are going backwards sometimes instead of forwards. That is to be expected on this journey.

 

 

 

4 Responses to “Book Club – The Artist’s Way – Chapter 5”

  1. Sonja Milojevics July 6, 2012 at 11:05 am #

    Interesting list…I should write it down in my journal and give it a thought. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Book Club – The Artist’s Way – Chapter 6 « Blue Twig Studio - July 20, 2012

    […] Book Club – The Artist’s Way – Chapter 5 (bluetwigstudio.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

  2. Book Club – The Artist’sWay – Chapter 7 « Blue Twig Studio - July 27, 2012

    […] Book Club – The Artist’s Way – Chapter 5 (bluetwigstudio.wordpress.com) Rate this:Share this:FacebookStumbleUponDiggTwitterEmailPinterestTumblrRedditLinkedInLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. […]

    Like

I love to read your comments

Royalty Free Images
