HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO ME!

4 May

It is my one-year birthday for the Blue Twig Studio web-site. Woo Hoo! Yippee!  WOW!! It has been a fun and exciting and exhausting year. I am so happy that I chose to start this business. It has been a year of learning, but so worth it. I know that anytime you start a new business, no matter how much you study and research beforehand, there is still a huge learning curve. I’ve made some mistakes along the way, and I still have a long list of things I need to learn or to research or to try, but it’s all good. I love what I am doing and am ready for whatever comes next.

The last couple weeks I have ventured out doing my first ‘shows’. I participated in the Pueblo Quilt & Stitch Expo a couple of weeks ago, which was a great show for my first one. It is only a 2-day show, and is a slightly smaller venue, and not too far away to drive, so I was happy with how it went. The people were super nice to work with and I had a friend help out with the show and we had a good time. As it was my first show, I had a lot to learn, and took a lot of notes, and talked to a lot of the other vendors to get some helpful hints for future shows. So much to learn!

This week I am doing the Denver Mancuso Quilt Show, and am still in the learning mode. I did learn a lot from the Pueblo show, but there just wasn’t enough time between the two shows to implement a lot that I learned, so that it appears I haven’t learned a lot yet. Oh well! The Denver show is a bit further away than Pueblo, and much heavier traffic to deal with getting back and forth, but at least still doable so I can be home every night. The show is bigger than the Pueblo show, but not super big, but it is 4 days instead of 2. Again, my friends are helping out and I am very grateful for that. I am still taking notes and asking questions and working out the kinks.

I will be doing more shows. I am now deciding on some of the options for shows. They are a lot of work. But I am meeting new people, learning about what my customers are really looking for, and how they are using the products they are buying. I am still learning about the business. I am happy to have survived the first year and to still be enjoying the work.

So, since I am at the Denver show this week, there is no birthday party to celebrate yet. But I will be having a party on May 22nd to celebrate, with food and drinks and door prizes and lots of laughter! Please join the party if you are able to do so! But if you can’t make it to the party, I still want to say thank you for your support and your friendship. Stay tuned for another giveaway sometime this month. I’m too tired to organize it tonite. 🙂

And please remember to check out the website often and please sign up for the newsletter to stay informed about upcoming events and new products and sale items. Sorry, I don’t even have any pictures to post from the show. I guess you will just have to stop by to visit me to see how it looks. 🙂

~Deb~

Let Your Inner Artist Out To Play

Blue Twig Studio

5 Responses to “HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO ME!”

  1. reflectionsinapuddle May 4, 2012 at 9:40 pm #

    Happy birthday!!! This is so wonderful to have your own business and enjoy it!

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt May 5, 2012 at 6:48 am #

      Thanks. It has been a very busy but very enjoyable year. Now on to year #2.

      Like

  2. Sonja Milojevic May 5, 2012 at 2:53 am #

    Happy Shop Birthday Deb! 🙂 I wish you many many years of success and lots of fun! Have a great time at the show and sell a lot! 🙂

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt May 5, 2012 at 6:49 am #

      Thanks Sonja. It has been fairly busy the first 2 days. Not as busy as I expected, but still worth my time and effort. Hoping the last 2 days of the show will be even better.

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Happy Birthday Blue Twig Studio « Blue Twig Studio - May 24, 2012

    […] Happy Birthday to Me! (bluetwigstudio.wordpress.com) Rate this:Share this:FacebookStumbleUponDiggTwitterEmailPinterestTumblrRedditLinkedInLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

    Like

I love to read your comments

Royalty Free Images
