Zendala Tiles

6 Apr

The Zendala Tiles are a new product released by Zentangle®.  I have been playing with them to see how they work and how they are different and the same from the standard tiles.  They are described as ‘Mandala meets Zentangle’ in a harmonious union that will positively inspire you to put pen to paper. Zendala tiles are about 4-5/8″ (117mm) diameter. They are die cut with the deckle edge and use the same paper as the square white tiles. These are round die-cut tiles – Including 18 pre-strung tiles (2 sets of 9 different strings) and 3 blank tiles, 21 tiles in all, all in a nice tin.

 

Zendala tiles

What I have found is that they do take a bit more time to complete than the standard tiles, and a bit more thought goes into them. So far I have used 4 of the pre-strung tiles and tried to make them all quite different. I haven’t tried the blank tiles yet in order to create my own tangle, but I am looking forward to doing something fun with those. The round format is quite beautiful, and emphasizes the fact that Zentangles have no up or down orientation. Here are my 4 tiles that I have completed so far.

Zendala by Deb Prewitt

Zendala by Deb Prewitt

Zendala by Deb Prewitt

Zendala by Deb Prewitt

I will be offering a Zendala class in the near future, so be sure to stay tuned for more information about the class. If you don’t want to wait for the class, you can purchase the Zendala tins on the Blue Twig Studio website, and get started right away creating your own Zendala art.

~Deb~

Let Your Inner Artist Out To Play

 

4 Responses to “Zendala Tiles”

  1. Sonja Milojevic April 7, 2012 at 2:29 am #

    Deb these are so amazing!!! They are almost alive when I look at them! Great work!

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt April 7, 2012 at 7:54 am #

      Thanks sonja. Once I got started on them, I found it hard to stop.

      Like

  2. Kai April 19, 2012 at 7:41 pm #

    Your tangles are sooo cool… I hope mine will improve over time and not look so… kindergartenish. 🙂

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt April 19, 2012 at 7:53 pm #

      thanks so much. I’m sure yours look fabulous. Thanks for visiting.

      Like

I love to read your comments

Royalty Free Images
