The Ribbon Goddess – Heart Tutorial

7 Jan

I have proclaimed myself The Ribbon Goddess! I absolutely love all the beautiful ribbons and trims that I have on the website. So many luscious ribbons, it makes me want to swoon. I hope you check out Blue Twig Studio website frequently to see what lovely new goodies have arrived. While you are there I hope you sign up for the Newsletter so you can get updates and information about goodies on sale!

Valentines Heart by Deb Prewitt

Since Valentines Day is in the near future, I thought I would make a cute little Heart to share with you. This is so easy to do and can easily be altered for a number of applications. I wanted to use some of the new ribbons that have recently arrived. So I used the ribbons from the Valentine Ribbon Kit. I used a piece of Multi-purpose cloth for my base, but you could use just about anything you had on hand. I like the Multi-purpose cloth because it is very easy to sew and cut, but it is a heavier weight than using muslin or other cotton fabrics. You would need to add some kind of stabilizer or batting and backing if you were using a lighter weight fabric.

I just took a square of Multi-purpose cloth and started sewing strips of the Valentines ribbons on it. I used straight stitching and zig-zag stitching, but you could add all kinds of decorative stitching as well. Once I had it covered, I cut out a large heart. I just free cut it, but you could use a heart template. After I had cut my heart, I sewed the red lips across the heart, just for fun.

Love those red lips!

I then stitched around the edges and used my pinking shears to trim the edges. I put a bit of ribbon on it to hang it on the wall, but I can see making a whole bunch of these in different sizes and creating a garland to hang. Hmmm…..I think I will do that later. I love it when those fun ideas just pop into your head.

There you have it. Using the Valentines Ribbon Kit and Multi-purpose cloth I created an easy ribbon project to get ready for Valentines Day! Happy Heart Day!

~The Ribbon Goddess~

Blue Twig Studio

Let Your Inner Artist Out To Play

5 Responses to “The Ribbon Goddess – Heart Tutorial”

  1. Sonja Milojevic January 7, 2012 at 1:33 pm #

    That is one cute cute heart! I love all the ribbons you used, especially the one with roses! And the kisses are adorable! Thanks for sharing this project!

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt January 7, 2012 at 2:20 pm #

      I knew you would like it Sonja. I was thinking about your cute little hearts when I made mine. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  2. Mountain, Moon and Sea February 9, 2012 at 9:03 pm #

    That is really cute and a good way to use up the ribbon stash.
    I might make some for an engagement party I’m organising. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt February 10, 2012 at 9:22 am #

      They are super easy and you can make them any size you like. They would be perfect for an engagement party.

      Like

I love to read your comments

Royalty Free Images
