A word for the New Year

19 Dec

The New Year is fast approaching, with resolutions on a lot of minds. I’m not so big on resolutions, but am going to choose a word for the year. My friend Liz Kettle at Textile Evolution always chooses a word for each year. A word that she can focus on or work with or contemplate for the entire year. Last year she encouraged a group of us to also choose a word and of course we all dutifully did. My word for 2011 was “focus” and I really tried to work on that throughout the year and to keep it ever-present in my life. I’m not really sure I was able to accomplish everything that the word encompasses, but I did try. In reality I should probably keep that word for another year since I do still need to work on it. But I am choosing a new word for 2012.

PLAY

I also recently started following Quinn McDonald over at QuinnCreative and she also does a word of the year and has been encouraging everyone to choose a new word for the upcoming year. And in fact I have seen several people on various blogs and websites talking about chosing a word of the year. Mari Smith has a great post about it, and she is focusing on growth for the new year, as she is much more business oriented. Apparently everyone thinks it is a grand idea!

PLAY

So I guess I am jumping on the bandwagon here and declaring the need for a word of the year. My word for 2012 is “play”. Since my tag line for Blue Twig Studio is “let your inner artist out to play”, it seems like a really good choice. Plus, then I can play all year and how much fun is that going to be!

PLAY

We all spend a lot of time trying to do our chores and get things checked off our to-do list and trying to finish up with work assignments, but we forget to add in the playing part. We treat play as an afterthought, or at best something we do when everything else is done. Really? Is everything else ever done? We need play just as much as we need work (that’s the story I am sticking with).

PLAY

We fondly remember being children and being allowed to play. Yes, as children we played a lot and expressed ourselves much more creatively. Yet there was always that sense that it couldn’t or wouldn’t last. As a child I was always told to finish my chores or my homework before going outside to play (or any other fun activity that I wanted to do). Just like needing to finish all your vegetables before you get any dessert! Well, this year I vow to try to Play first and then do my chores!!!!!!! Sounds like lots of fun, don’t you think?

PLAY

What word do you think you would like to choose for 2012? What word speaks to you?

13 Responses to “A word for the New Year”

  1. Sonja Milojevic December 20, 2011 at 2:40 am #

    This is a new concept for me – choosing a word for the year. But I love it! You are right Deb, we should play more. It’s not like we waste time while playing, it’s about letting our selves explore, grow, listen to our inner voice. That could never be wrong. There are always so many things that need to be done, but play should never be the last on the list. I’ll have to think about the word for the next year. Hmmm… ? 🙂

    Like

  2. Krystyna Rawicz December 20, 2011 at 8:02 am #

    Play is fundamental to any sort of creativity for me. Some time ago, I was feeling a little foolish in the concept of sharing my creative outputs (I’m loath to call it work) and realised that my resistance stemmed from “feeling like a small child showing people what I have made”. After reflecting on it, I decided I needed to embrace these feelings – maybe its ok to be like a small child at play. I’m going to reflect on the concept of play and the concept of work and why we deem one frivolous and the other worthy. Thanks!

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt December 20, 2011 at 8:13 am #

      Thanks for the comment Krystyna. I too find it quite interesting how we define certain activities as being worthwhile or frivolous. I think it is very cultural-driven, thus the difficulty in making those changes for ourselves. For many of us, we want to be accepted and not thought of as silly. For others, we tend to embrace that whole idea of being the quirky artist. I believe that PLAY needs to be a part of everyone’s life, not just the artistic people. I hope to spread that word around a lot in the upcoming year.

      Like

  3. iHanna December 26, 2011 at 12:24 pm #

    Play is a great word, I have it with me through my life, but for this upcoming year I haven’t made up my mind about a word… yet. But soon I hope I will find one, or one will find me.

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt December 26, 2011 at 3:57 pm #

      Good luck with finding your word. I find that there are many to choose from, but only a few that are perfect!

      Like

  4. Breanna Chanson January 5, 2012 at 1:00 pm #

    Ahhh PLAY!!! It doesn’t get any better than that!! My word is FREEDOM (freedom from my business mostly) but yours sounds way more fun! Yay! Stop reading and go PLAAAAYYYY!!!! 😉

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt January 5, 2012 at 6:05 pm #

      Freedom is a great word too. But you can always use Play along with it! Just PLAY whenever you can!

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Book of Days 2012 | lifeofdeb - December 27, 2011

    […] book covers and picking their words for the year. As some of you may know, I already have picked a word for the year – PLAY – and have a great journal all ready to go to explore that word during the […]

    Like

  2. New Blog | New Year | Looking Towards JOY in 2012 « Dancing for Joy - December 29, 2011

    […] A word for the New Year (bluetwigstudio.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

  3. 2012 ~ I CHOOSE to DANCE for JOY…What do you choose for 2012? « Wrestling the Muse - December 31, 2011

    […] A word for the New Year (bluetwigstudio.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

  4. Monday Art/Journal Prompt | lifeofdeb - January 2, 2012

    […] a word of the year yet? Well you still have time to decide. You can read more about it here or here. I have 2 words this year (for 2 different projects). PLAY and SEEK. They go together nicely, […]

    Like

  5. 52 Play Dates Update | lifeofdeb - January 17, 2012

    […] I am also following along with Jane Fox and her 52 Play Dates for 2012. She posts a video with a technique to learn each week and then you go to your studio and play! Super easy and fun and a great way to add some new techniques to your art journaling skills. And just a reminder to PLAY more often! (Play is one of my words for the year after all) […]

    Like

  6. 2012 ~ I CHOOSE to DANCE for JOY…What do you choose for 2012? | Kim Koning - July 1, 2013

    […] A word for the New Year (bluetwigstudio.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

I love to read your comments

Royalty Free Images
