Book review – I’d rather be in the studio!

8 Dec

I recently had the good fortune to listen to a talk by Alyson B Stanfield. According to her book cover, she is an ‘artist advocate’ which sounds like a super great job title. She writes books and gives workshops and teaches classes and all sorts of fun things. She is the founder of ArtBizCoach.com and has lots of useful information for those of us in the Art world or even if we are only on the periphery of the Art World. After her talk (which focused primarily on using Facebook Pages to enhance your Art Marketing) I purchased her book I’d rather be in the studio!  I couldn’t wait to see what other marketing and business ideas she had for me.

I'd rather be in the studio! by Alyson B Stanfield

I haven’t finished reading it yet (heavy sigh). I have been re-reading pages and taking notes and trying to absorb all the ideas that are included (there are a lot of them). But I have finished a good chunk of the book and am delighted to recommend it to all of you. Here are some of the highlights that I have noted so far that I think are most useful:

  1. Polish and refine your Artist Statement. Do this often and adjust it for different venues.
  2. Say Thank You. And follow up on inquiries or comments about your Art.
  3. It’s OK to have routine and schedules even if you are an Artist.
  4. Send out a newsletter. Do it regularly.
  5. Inventory your Artwork. Titles, sizes, mediums, where it is (did you sell it? to whom? is it at your studio? did you give it as a gift?)
  6. Conversations Exercises about your Art.
  7. How to write news releases and create a media kit.

There are dozens more ideas and recommendations in this book. It seems like the type of book you will want to keep around and refer to over and over as your Art changes and as your needs and experiences change. As Artists, there is a tendency to only focus on the Art side of things and dismiss the rest of it (similar post about the other side of art is here). But marketing and business is something you need to do in order to be successful and to be able to continue doing your Art work. Alyson B Stanfield can help you with that!

6 Responses to “Book review – I’d rather be in the studio!”

  1. pargasjunkyard December 9, 2011 at 6:15 pm #

    Looks like a valuable book for artists! There are some pieces of advice here that could be used in other vocations as well….such as blogging….LOL….

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt December 9, 2011 at 8:42 pm #

      Yes, I am sure that lots of people could find some value in this book, even if they aren’t in the art fields. I am learning a lot of things that I know will be valuable in my own artistic endeavors.

      Like

  2. Alyson Stanfield December 10, 2011 at 10:11 am #

    Thank you, Deb! I’m so glad to have met you at that talk and I’m thrilled that you have found value in the book.

    A quick reminder to your readers that there’s a book sale going on through December 19. http://artbizcoach.com/santa

    (Please feel free to delete this if you think it’s inappropriate. I just wanted people to know that.)

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt December 10, 2011 at 3:48 pm #

      Thanks for stopping by Alyson. I should have let you know I was doing the blog post anyway. I am doing just what you said to do, writing in the book and underlining stuff and adding arrows and stars to particular parts that I want to easily find again. I think it is great!

      Like

      • Alyson Stanfield December 11, 2011 at 9:19 am #

        No problem! I found it with my Google Alerts. Glad you’re USING the book – not just reading it.

        Like

  3. Leeann Abalos January 4, 2012 at 12:15 am #

    Thanks for the nice read 🙂

    Like

I love to read your comments

Royalty Free Images
