ATCs for TEVO

15 Aug

Let me just say that if you are going to Textile Evolution, you may want to skip this post as I am going to go over how I made my ATCs for the Retreat. Just a heads up for those of you who would like it to be a surprise.

Just a quick little tutorial about my ATCs that I am taking to the Textile Evolution Retreat this week. We always have an ATC swap the first night. It is a great way to break the ice and get to know some of your fellow campers. And it is so inspirational to see the various techniques and ideas and colors that everyone uses. It’s a fun way to get those creative juices flowing to start the Retreat Adventure.

 

grungeboard base

 

The first thing I did was start with a base of Grungeboard. I love how this product is so very easy to use and extremely versatile. You can paint it, distress it, cut it, glue it, sew it, alter it, etc.  I painted mine white (both sides) and let it dry. I’m in Colorado where it is very dry, so this part doesn’t really take very long. I like the idea of Grungeboard for ATCs, as it is thick enough to be used alone (so I don’t need to add extra layers) and doesn’t need to have any kind of edging done (like stitching or tape). Perfect!

 

cutting the ATCs

 

Then I cut the Grungeboard to ATC size. The Grungeboard is 8″ x 5″, and ATCs are 2.5″ x 3.5″, so you get 4 ATCs on each sheet, plus some little extra bits to use for something else.

 

ATCs and extra bits

 

The extra bits are 1″ x 2.5″ so you can make a bunch of inchies from these pieces. Or you can cut out shapes or paint them and use them to add another dimension onto some other project or journal page you are working on. You know we don’t throw anything away, we try to find some other use for it.

 

using molding paste with stencils

 

Next I laid out some various stencils onto the ATC blanks and added some molding paste by spreading it with a popcicle stick. This is super easy to do and a great way to add texture and dimension to whatever you are working on.

 

molding paste added

 

I know it is white on white so it is hard to see at this point. But take my word for it, there is stenciling on the ATCs now. You can always add color to your molding paste before you spread it. I wanted to do it later.

 

spritzing done

 

Now I have just added some spritzing with the Tattered Angels Glimmer Mists. I added several colors to the ATCs. It’s a fun way to get just a bit of splashing color on your backgrounds.

 

coloring some of the cards

 

Next I added a bit more color to the raised surfaces (where I used the molding paste and the stencils). I colored with both the Copic Markers and the Pitt Big Brush Pens. Both are easy to use for this process. I just lightly rubbed the color over the raised areas. You can see the texture starting to pop now.

 

using stamp pads to color

 

Next I used some different stamp pads in various colors to add another layer of color to some of the raised areas. I also used the stamp pads to ink the edges of all the ATCs so they are smudged. I also used more than one color on most of the cards to give it a more dimensional look.

starting to look good

 

Now I have some layers of color and the texture on all my cards. Now I will add some words to them.

stamping words

 

I used some letter stamps I have and added some random artsy words to each of the ATCs. I always like to use words whenever possible. Then of course I had to sign and date the back of each of the cards.

 

Beautiful ATCs to Trade

 

Here are the completed TEVO ATCs I made. I like them to be similar but different, so everyone can choose the one that truly speaks to them.

2 Responses to “ATCs for TEVO”

  1. Jo-Ann Dziubek-MacDonald August 15, 2011 at 4:32 pm #

    I adore these ACEO’s…such a great technique! I have used the stencilling and stamping letters in some of my own ACEOS and it so much fun and they look great 🙂 Great Blog, Deb!

    Like

    • lifeofdeb August 15, 2011 at 5:25 pm #

      Thanks Jo-Ann for visiting. I have fun with the Artist Trading Cards, trying out new products and new techniques. And the best part is seeing what everyone else does. There are so many creative people out there, it constantly amazes me.

      Like

I love to read your comments

Royalty Free Images
