Birthday Give-away! Woo Hoo!

9 Aug

My birthday is this week and I thought it would be fun to do something special for it. So I am going to do a giveaway. At my age, it is as much fun to give as to receive on my birthday.

So what do you have to do to win?  Just comment on this post (it won’t count if you comment on the facebook page) with a message about what your best ever birthday gift was. I will draw a winner at the end of the day Aug 13th. How easy is that?

And what do you win? Hmmm. Good question. How about one of these great new Faber-Castell kits that I just got into the store.

This is the Mixed Media & Collage kit and it includes 3 Art Grip Aquarelle Pencils, 1 Stamper’s Big Brush Pen, 1 Pitt Artist Pen, 1 Gelato Stick, 1 Clear Stamp, 1 Pencil Sharpener, 1 sm bottle Gesso, 1 sm bottle Craft Glue, 20 assorted Clipart/Design Papers, 7 Greyboard surfaces, 1 foam brush, 1 mesh screen, 1 piece of lace, 12 Illustrated Cards. There is so much fun stuff in this kit as well as some idea cards for you, that I know you will have a blast playing with everything.

I think somebody will be very happy to win this kit!  Don’t forget, to be eligible to win, you need to leave your comments on this post, about a favorite birthday gift!

24 Responses to “Birthday Give-away! Woo Hoo!”

  1. Kathy Genz August 9, 2011 at 9:39 pm #

    Let me be the first to comment. Great give-away! My favorite birthday gift was this year – our trip to Alaska from our daughters. Lots of inspiration for art for years to come from all the photos I took.

    Like

    • lifeofdeb August 10, 2011 at 9:33 am #

      That was a great gift Kathy. And how fabulous to take so many wonderful photos that you can use. I love your photos.

      Like

  2. Cass August 9, 2011 at 10:51 pm #

    My favorite birthday gift is an abstract owl painting that my dad made for me when I was in 7th grade. He’d just returned from Vietnam and was back teaching English at the Air Force Academy. Over the course of dozens of lunch hours, he learned how to oil paint and created this fiery, tactile masterpiece for me! It hangs just inside my front door so I get to see and touch it all the time.

    Like

    • lifeofdeb August 10, 2011 at 9:34 am #

      What a great gift Cass. And how nice that you still have it and can look at it every single day. So many of those types of things from our youth tend to get lost somewhere along the way.

      Like

  3. Teresa Brost August 10, 2011 at 12:28 pm #

    Well, I don’t do birthdays anymore..”.forever 21″…but when i was a kid probably the best birthday gift I ever received was when I was about 8 or 9 my mom did a surprise party for me at the swimming pool park & all my friends came & we went swimming all day..Mom made this cool butterfly cake, which was sooo yummy…candy all over it..But it was so fun to just hang out with my friends all day!

    Like

    • lifeofdeb August 10, 2011 at 6:49 pm #

      Wow Teresa, I don’t remember any kind of days like that! See I knew you were the favorite! Mom actually baked a butterfly cake for you too. That is amazing. Thanks for sharing.

      Like

  4. Linda Mangus August 10, 2011 at 7:30 pm #

    Well I can say that birthdays are not for me anymore. I would say that I have had many birthday gifts over the years. Friends and family have been very generous and I love them for it. To be honest my best ever birthday gift was a diamond ring from my husband. Because diamonds are a girls best friend. However what I like the most now is just a simple card with a note and not necessarily a gift.

    Like

    • lifeofdeb August 12, 2011 at 8:49 am #

      Linda, diamonds are fabulous for birthdays! But I know what you mean about getting older and just wanting a simple card or note. Just the acknowledgment that somebody loves you.

      Like

  5. Christa C August 11, 2011 at 3:47 am #

    My favorite birthday gift was last year, my mom came out from CO to visit me in VA. I was 7 mo pregnant in a brand new place and it was so great to have my mama with me! Happy birthday Deb!

    Like

    • lifeofdeb August 11, 2011 at 9:22 am #

      Christa, that is a wonderful birthday gift. Sometimes we just need our mom to be with us. Thanks for the birthday wishes!

      Like

  6. MelodyJ August 11, 2011 at 11:54 pm #

    When I was 6 I got a puppy. My parents said we could go look but I couldn’t get a puppy on my birthday. Turns out the surprise was I got him but it was around my birthday, not the exact date.

    melodyj(at)gmail(dot)com

    Like

    • lifeofdeb August 12, 2011 at 8:48 am #

      What a cute story Melody. Pets are such great birthday gifts. You hardly ever remember anything else you got except that pet. 🙂

      Like

  7. Christa August 12, 2011 at 9:08 am #

    How generous of you to have such a great giveaway for YOUR birthday! I hope your birthday is wonderful and fun and everything you wish for!

    My best birthday gift was my husband flying 2000 miles to surprise me on my 40th!

    We were married, but he was living here in the US and I was still living in Canada, waiting for immigration and for our sons to graduate high school. We only got to see each other every six weeks or so- and since we had just had a visit a month earlier, I was completely surprised and delighted that he planned another visit just to celebrate with me!

    Like

    • lifeofdeb August 12, 2011 at 1:16 pm #

      Christa, what a wonderfully romantic birthday gift. I’m sure it will be one you always remember.

      Like

  8. Karen B August 12, 2011 at 10:04 am #

    When I was born there was a huge snow in NC….and every birthday i always wanted a big snow. On my 18th b’day…I got it…totally snowed in BUT all my friends trekked to my house and we all trekked all over our little town stopping at everyone’s houses for hot chocolate and a sneak of a hot toddy…then we went to our high school and sledded almost all night!

    Your blog is great!

    Like

    • lifeofdeb August 12, 2011 at 1:17 pm #

      Karen, what a fun birthday that sounds like. It’s funny what sorts of things we wish for, isn’t it?

      Like

  9. Sonja Milojevic August 12, 2011 at 11:54 am #

    What a great giveaway! I think the best birthday gift would be the one I’m going to receive this year, and that is a trip to US! I’ve always dreamed of going to United States, and being so far away, that could be a trip of a life time! And now it seems it might just happen! 🙂

    Like

    • lifeofdeb August 12, 2011 at 1:18 pm #

      That’s great Sonja. Where will you be visiting in the US? We are a really big country and there are so many places to visit and enjoy, and every single one of them is completely different from the rest of them. Will you have much time to stay?

      Like

  10. Tama August 13, 2011 at 6:59 am #

    Wow, those mixed media and collage kits sound like “fun in a package”.
    My best birthday ever? That’s easy. A couple years ago my husband took a couple days off from work and we drove to the coast. I got up before dawn and walked the beach as the sun rose. Then we visited the local aquarium which had been decorated for Halloween (the sculpture outside the front door sported fish with masks and there was a skeleton inside one of the tanks – isn’t that a hoot?) For lunch we went to a waterfront restaurant and while we were eating a rainbow appeared across the sky – I jumped from the table to run outside to get a better view. That birthday was a magical day with my favorite guy at my favorite place.

    Like

    • lifeofdeb August 13, 2011 at 6:51 pm #

      Tama, sounds like a wonderful birthday. And the Halloween fish sounds pretty goofy! I’m glad you have that memory.

      Like

  11. Tama August 13, 2011 at 7:06 am #

    And, HAPPY BIRTHDAY Deb!

    Like

  12. Nona Clark August 13, 2011 at 9:18 am #

    Happy Birthday Deb!! What a great idea to give someone else a gift on your birthday!! My best birthday gift was given to me this year by my 3 youngest (adult) kids. I am a huge Godsmack fan (heavy rock/metal band) and have seen them once in concert a few years ago. This year, the lead singer Sully Erna was going on tour to promote his solo album Avalon – a very spiritual, moving and melodic cd from a typically hard rocker. (I should mention that I also have a “thing” for him – he’s gorgeous!!) Well the concert announcement came that he was performing this show in Toronto on my actual birthday (May 24) – I knew that I couldn’t afford to go because of other financial obligations so I didn’t really talk about it with my kids. Well one night, about a month or so before my birthday, my kids were at my house for dinner and convinced me that they wanted to give me my present early. I objected but then gave in because they kept insisting. My present was a copy of his new cd Avalon – and when I opened up the cover there was a ticket to the concert!! But this was no ordinary ticket – it was a VIP pass to meet him and get his autograph before the show!! And my two youngest daughters were coming as well – my son wasn’t able to go!! Meeting him was definitely a THRILL of a lifetime for me!! My kids said that I was like a giddy schoolgirl LOL and to be honest that’s about how I felt!! We got his autograph and had a couple pics taken with him – one of all of us and one of just him & I!! What an experience!! And then I had the pleasure of sitting in the third row and watching him perform!! I will never forget this and I told them I can’t wait to see what they do next year to top this!!! Sorry to babble but as you can tell, I’m still excited about it!! LOL

    Like

    • lifeofdeb August 13, 2011 at 6:55 pm #

      Nona, that is a fabulous story. It sounds like your kids know what you like and went above and beyond to give it to you. I’m so glad you were able to share it with your daughters too. And glad you decided to keep them on their toes for next year too! I’m so glad you shared this story with us.

      Like

  13. lifeofdeb August 14, 2011 at 10:00 am #

    Thanks to everyone for sharing your stories. They are all great. Wish I could give everyone a prize! But only one prize this time. Random.org selected entry #4, so that is Linda. Congrats to Linda on winning such a fun prize. Check back often for more fun and games.

    Like

I love to read your comments

Royalty Free Images
