CHA Chicago

20 Jul

I’m at CHA (Craft & Hobby Assoc) in Chicago this week with Liz Kettle. It’s my first time to Chicago, so of course I am like a tourist. We had some time on Monday to go downtown and visited the Chicago Institute of Art Museum, which was really wonderful. They have such variety and it is so large, that it is difficult to see everything. But we tried! This exhibit of Chagall‘s stained glass “America Windows” was one of my favorites.

Chagall's America Windows

We also walked down to the lake and went to Millennium Park and saw some cool artwork. This giant shiny chrome orb was very fun to walk around. It is called “Cloud Gate“.

Cloud Gate

We stopped by to visit the newly unveiled statue of Marilyn Monroe. It was a lot of fun to watch everyone climb around and stand next to her and under her and look up her dress. She is pretty huge! Here I am standing next to her.

Marilyn Monroe

We walked for quite a while around the downtown area, and I enjoyed all the amazing architecture and art work that is part of the Chicago landscape. I wish there was more time to play tourist, but I am here to work.

Welcome to CHA

CHA is also a new experience for me. I did expect more variety from the vendors, but it appears that the scrapbooking craze is still alive and kicking up a storm. I’ve never seen so many papers and rubber stamps and little paper flowers!!!! There is not nearly as much mixed media or art products as I had hoped to find. But we did manage to find a few pretty cool things that I will be sharing with you in the coming weeks. Be on the lookout for new products on the Blue Twig Studio website.

I love to read your comments

Royalty Free Images
