Wedding gown challenge

18 Jun

Ok, now that I have your attention, it is NOT a challenge to make a wedding gown, so you can all breathe a sigh of relief. Sigh!

I have come into possession of a couple of wedding dresses (which have already had some parts snipped off), which I was going to cut into pieces and parts and try to sell the buttons and satin and embroidery and beads as some mixed media ephemera. And if there is any left over I will still do that. However, I thought it might be quite fun and entertaining to take some parts of the dresses and do something creative with them.  I know all of you are extremely creative and would be able to do something fabulous with these bits and pieces.

Here are a few pictures of the dresses so you can see what you might have to work with.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

If you are interested in participating in the challenge, just let me know and I will send you a piece of one of the dresses to play with. Everybody will receive a different piece (of course). You might get a small piece or a large piece or maybe two pieces, or one with beads or one with embroidery, or one with buttons, or a piece of plain satin (there is a lot of fabric). The challenge will be to take the piece you receive and use it in some creative fashion. You can alter it any way you like, add it to another project, or use it alone. Your imagination can run wild with ideas!

Since it is a challenge we need a couple of rules and a deadline. Bleh, I know! We’ll keep it simple. Rule #1, you must use at least 75% of the piece I send you in whatever project you choose. You can alter it any way you like and use as many other materials you want to add. Whatever you want to do. Rule #2, you must send me a photo of the finished project so I can post it on the blog and in the newsletter. It would be nice if you took a picture of the piece you start with, so we can see a before and after picture. The deadline for the finished project will be Sept 3oth, 2011. That should be plenty of time to get your creative juices flowing and complete the project.

So, who is up for the challenge? Let me know so I can send you a wedding gown piece to work with. I can’t wait to see what all your creative, thinking outside of the box, minds come up with! I’m so excited about this challenge!

17 Responses to “Wedding gown challenge”

  1. Linda Mangus June 18, 2011 at 7:24 pm #

    I will try to do the challenge. When is the deadline though

    Like

    • lifeofdeb June 19, 2011 at 11:16 am #

      Glad you are in. It will be loads of fun I think. Deadline is 9/30/11.

      Like

  2. Cass June 19, 2011 at 2:47 pm #

    I’m in! Sure will be a departure from what I normally do.

    Like

    • lifeofdeb June 19, 2011 at 4:07 pm #

      Great! I’ll be sure to get your piece of wedding dress to you soon!

      Like

  3. Linda Schwarz June 20, 2011 at 1:31 pm #

    I want to play. My arm should be well with enough time to meet the deadline. Thanks Deb.

    Like

    • lifeofdeb June 20, 2011 at 1:43 pm #

      I’m glad you are playing. It should be fun. Can’t wait to see what everyone creates.

      Like

  4. Paula June 20, 2011 at 8:12 pm #

    wedding dresses!!!!!! oh yay! I so want in on this challenge. Please send me more details.

    Like

    • lifeofdeb June 21, 2011 at 9:20 am #

      Great! I will send you the details and a piece of dress to work with.

      Like

  5. Kathy King June 20, 2011 at 8:31 pm #

    I would love to “play”…. What a great idea. I am not at all sure what I will come up with but certainly I should be able to muster something up by 9/30! Thanks for hosting this, Deb.

    Like

    • lifeofdeb June 21, 2011 at 9:20 am #

      Great Kathy! I’m glad you are playing too. I can’t wait to see what you come up with.

      Like

  6. Carolyn Rupp June 22, 2011 at 12:22 pm #

    My friend Kathy King wants me to join in the fun!

    Like

    • lifeofdeb June 22, 2011 at 7:26 pm #

      Fabulous. I will send you a quick email to confirm.

      Like

  7. Susie Capezzone August 16, 2011 at 4:09 pm #

    My birthday is this week also, 8/21…A favorite gift is from my Godchild Julia who is four. She gave me a heart shaped stone she found on the beach. She knows I love stones and rocks!

    Like

    • lifeofdeb August 17, 2011 at 10:21 am #

      That is so sweet Susie. Thanks for sharing.

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Monday Challenge – Finish a Project | lifeofdeb - October 10, 2011

    […] plan is to finish my wedding dress challenge. It is done except for finishing the binding on it. That is always the part that seems to delay me. […]

    Like

  2. Wedding Dress Challenge Projects « Blue Twig Studio - February 25, 2012

    […] Wedding Dress Challenge was such a fun project to do. You can read about the original challenge here. The idea was to take pieces of wedding dresses and create something new with them. The participants […]

    Like

  3. An A-Ha Moment | Blue Twig Studio - March 22, 2013

    […] you really need it).  The first big project I did with Valdani thread was as part of the first Blue Twig challenge when I used it in my Crazy Wedding Quilt  (pictured below).  I found I was never exasperated or […]

    Like

I love to read your comments

Royalty Free Images
