Butterfly Project

19 May

Yay. I finished my butterfly for the Butterflies & Friends art project. You can read all about the process on my other blog, along with many more photos. But it is done now and dropped off at Imagination Celebration, waiting to be placed out in the community for the summer. I chose to do a  z e n t a n g l eâ inspired butterfly and named it Zen in the Garden.

Me and the butterfly at the auto shop

The Butterflies & Friends project is a fabulous community service project sponsored by the Rotary Club. It is essentially a fund-raiser project to raise money for the arts programs in local schools. The first 3 years they have raised over $100K for our schools. WOW! This is the 4th year of the project, and my first year as a participant.

I encourage you to check out the Butterflies & Friends website and read about this worthwhile community art project. The butterflies will be on display around the city from June 11 to Sept 15. Then they will be auctioned off on Sept 17 at the Cheyenne Mountain Resort.  How much money will be raised this year?

Here are a couple more photos for you and I hope those of you who are local will make an effort to go out and see all the wonderful butterflies when they are on public display. Perhaps even show up at the auction and bid on one or two.

Zen in the Garden

12 Responses to “Butterfly Project”

  1. Linda Mangus May 19, 2011 at 7:22 pm #

    Way to go and what a beautiful creation

    Like

  2. Linda Schwarz May 19, 2011 at 9:47 pm #

    Thank you for sharing the pix. Be sure and let us know where in the city it ends up displayed.

    Like

  3. Cass May 20, 2011 at 7:43 am #

    WONDERFUL!!! I’m so glad you decided to participate! 😉

    Like

    • lifeofdeb May 20, 2011 at 7:15 pm #

      Thanks for nagging me just enough to get me to do it. I had a lot of fun doing it. Can’t wait to see all of them finished.

      Like

  4. Venisa Gallegos June 13, 2011 at 6:27 pm #

    Wow, you’re butterfly is soooo cool. You really did a good job. I had no idea they were that big. So can I but a raffle ticket from you so I can win it?

    Like

    • lifeofdeb June 13, 2011 at 6:51 pm #

      Hey thanks so much. My butterfly was actually one of the small ones. I’m glad I didn’t choose to do one of the large ones for my first one. Maybe next time around.

      Like

    • Deb Prewitt June 14, 2011 at 6:59 am #

      Forgot to tell you that I don’t have any raffle tickets to sell. You can contact the rotary club for tickets, or check the web site http://www.artsandfriends.org/ for how to purchase.

      Like

  5. Paula June 20, 2011 at 8:05 pm #

    Oh Deb, I adore your butterfly. I hope you will do another zentangle class this fall. Myk really missed it!

    Like

    • lifeofdeb June 21, 2011 at 9:19 am #

      I will definitely do another Zentangle class when I come back. Glad you liked the butterfly. It was a lot of fun to do.

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Call for Artists! Butterflies and Friends! « Blue Twig Studio - February 18, 2012

    […] can read about my participation in last years project here and here.  This is such a fabulous fund-raiser for our local community that I hope you will […]

    Like

I love to read your comments

Royalty Free Images
