Week 3 of 365 Days of Art

21 Jan

Week 3 is done and finished! And I’m still enjoying the daily challenge (and the weekly challenge too).

I made a mix of inchies and twinchies again this week. It’s fun to do several days of inchies, which are so tiny and then do a couple of twinchies and feel like I have SO MUCH space to work on. Ha Ha

I made a couple of map ones as I am working on my map ATCs for the monthly blog challenge and figured I’d do some inchies as well.

I like mixing up the techniques and the materials used. Some are paper, some are fabric, some are painted, some are stamped, some are drawn, some are layered, etc.

I also completed my weekly sketch. I used a photo again, which I prefer doing. This photo of this cute little boy squinting into the sunshine and all dressed up in his 3-piece denim suite was too adorable to pass up. He had his thumbs hooked into the pockets of the jacket, but I couldn’t quite do the hands yet. Perhaps by the end of the year I’ll be able to draw hands and fingers, but for now I just generally sketched the idea of hands in.

sketch by Deb Prewitt

sketch by Deb Prewitt

I definitely need more contrast and shading, but I think it looks like a little boy, although a bit cross-eyed. He had one arm kind of jutted out and I tried to draw it that way, but it looks a little wonky I think.

Are you working on your 365 days of art challenge? What are you doing? How do you feel about it?

Feel free to share photos and links here or on facebook or instagram. Use #bts365days to tag your work so we can find each other. I know we all want to share and be supportive.

~Deb

Let Your Inner Artist Out To Play

Blue Twig Studio - 5039 N Academy Blvd – Colorado Springs, CO 80918 – USA

719-266-1866

 

10 Responses to “Week 3 of 365 Days of Art”

  1. Tifney January 21, 2014 at 7:41 pm #

    Looking good Deb! I love seeing your work!

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt January 21, 2014 at 7:56 pm #

      Thanks Tifney. Are you working on your own art? I hope so.

      Like

  2. Sonja Milojevic January 22, 2014 at 1:54 am #

    Oooo I love that fabric inchie (or is it twinchie?) :) Everything looks great!

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt January 22, 2014 at 7:51 am #

      Yes the fabric one is a twinchie. Made with gelatos and then stamped and then the microbeads glued on.

      Like

  3. Lynnita Knoch January 22, 2014 at 11:58 pm #

    I’m looking forward to seeing your inchies and twinchies each week. They look fun. I’ve done a couple of inchie exchanges in the past couple years and enjoyed it. It was exciting to see what everyone else did, too. I have a question about your inchies this week. What are gelatos? I’ve seen them advertised the last few months, but really don’t a have a clue what they are and how they are used.

    I finished my challenge this week. I dyed scarves this week and did one small practice sketch of dragon eyes. It’s posted on my blog at http://lynnitaknoch.blogspot.com/.

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt January 23, 2014 at 7:46 am #

      Very cool scarves you did.

      Gelatos are a product by Faber-Castell. They are a creamy, pigment based paint which is water soluble and blendable with each other. there are quite a few yummy colors and you can create a spray with them, or blend them with gel medium or paste to add color, use with stencils, etc. There are a lot of videos out there with them. I have one on my you-tube channel where I use them with stencils. A fun toy to play with. I sell them in the store and on the website.

      Like

      • Lynnita Knoch January 23, 2014 at 4:17 pm #

        Your video was fun to watch. I will have to order some of those gelatos. They definitely look like they’d be fun to use in mixed-media, art journaling, and drawing, etc. Do they work on fabric, too?

        Like

        • Deb Prewitt January 23, 2014 at 5:03 pm #

          I have used them on fabric but haven’t tested the permanence of them. But for fabric art or art journaling where you weren’t going to be washing it, they work fine.

          Like

  4. iHanna January 26, 2014 at 7:32 am #

    I’m so happy to have ended my own 365-challenge last year, I feel free to do “what ever” now, but I wish you luck and success on your project. Looks like a great start!

    Like

    • Deb Prewitt January 26, 2014 at 8:42 am #

      Thanks. I know it will be a long year, but so far so good. And for me, it is about the committment to myself to keep that creative spirit alive and constant. With the new storefront, I was feeling less connected to my art and needing something to do regularly and easily. More to prove that I could do it than anything else.

      Like

I love to read your comments

Royalty Free Images
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,942 other followers

